Cedarwood Essential Oil

Here’s some information about one of my favorite oils…

Cedarwood-Oil-3

Cedarwood (Cedrus atlantica) Essential Oil

Inhaling the oils of cedarwood helps increase the ability to think clearly and enhances the awareness needed for effective prayer and meditation. This is due to Cedarwood containing some of the highest concentrations of sesquiterpenes, which have the ability to pass through the blood-brain barrier and oxygenate the brain directly upon inhalation by way of the nasal passages and the olfactory nerves, more on scent and the brain. It has been suggested that cedarwood oil might prevent senility and Alzheimer’s disease.

Perhaps this is why the palaces of King David and King Solomon were built of cedar. King Solomon contracted King Hiram to supply all the materials needed (The Cedars of Lebanon) in return for wheat and fine oils for every year as long as it took to complete the temple. Unfortunately, the cedars of Lebanon were nearly forested to extinction and today only small patches exist in the far regions. Cedrus atlantica is believed to the closest in chemistry to the cedars of Biblical times.

Cedarwood (Cedrus atlantica) has a warm, balsamic, woody aroma. It is relaxing and soothing when used for massage, and has long been used as a beneficial ingredient in cosmetic preparations for oily skin.

Key Chemistry: Cedarwood contains 98% sesquiterpenes which deprogram misinformation written in the DNA due to trauma, abuse, loss and ancestral and limiting beliefs. Sesquiterpenes are considered the antidepressant in this valuable aspect.

Cedarwood may also be useful as a general cerebral stimulant. It may be diffused or applied topically as desired.

Fragrant Influence: Stimulates the limbic region of the brain (the center of emotions) and the pineal gland, which releases melatonin. Terry Friedmann, MD found in clinical tests that this essential oil was able to successfully treat ADD and ADHD (attention deficit disorders) in children. It is recognized for its calming, purifying properties.

Other Properties: may combat hair loss (alopecia areata), antibacterial, lymphatic stimulant.

Uses: Hair loss, arteriosclerosis, ADHD, skin problems (acne, eczema).

Application: (1) Apply on location, (2) chakras/vitaflex points, (3) directly inhale, (4) diffuse.

~~ Purchase Cedarwood at my website ~~

Cedarwood Oil used for a Cold and Sore Throat Testimonial

I had a nasty cold and sore throat, a couple of Sundays ago I woke up with a hacking cough and my wife told me to put Cedarwood on my throat & chest. I did, and it helped immensely. I was feeling rough enough I stayed home from church and read the first few chapters of the Essential Oils Desk Reference.

I also looked up Cedarwood and nowhere does it mention for respiratory problems. But it DOES help with this hacking cough!! I use it through the day.

At night I use Raven & RC (other Young Living essential oil blends) in a travel diffuser. I get under the covers with it for about 15 minutes before going to sleep. Helps me sleep through most of the night w/o coughing. ~ Gary

Cedarwood Essential Oil for Sleep Testimonial

At night I place a drop or two of Cedarwood on my forehead and temples then dab the rest under my nose or perhaps on the outer rims of my ears. I fall asleep much more easily, perhaps because Cedarwood is known to stimulate melatonin, the sleep hormone. ~ Deborah

You might also be interested in reading…

* Use only superior quality essential oils. Essential oils from bath shops and natural foods stores are often perfume grade and thus may not yield therapeutic results.

Information found here refers solely to products from Young Living Essential Oils and is for educational purposes only. It is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent disease. We urge you to do the health related research necessary to learn what is right for you.

6 thoughts on “Cedarwood Essential Oil

  1. i have had a meaningful dream in which i put diluted oil of cedarwood on the hollow at the base of my neck where my collarbones meet. also on the bottom of my feet and in all my shoes. any idea what this would do for my health?

    Hi JB,

    I’m not sure what your dream means but quite often there are messages in them. I would try cedarwood on my feet and at the base of my neck and see what it brings into balance.

    In the Essential Oils Desk Reference for Cedarwood it states:
    Stimulates the limbic region of the brain (the center of emotions) stimulates the pineal gland, which releases melatonin. Terry Friedmann MD found in clinical tests that this oil was able to successfully treat ADD and ADHD (attention deficit disorders) in children. It is recognized for its calming, purifying properties.

    I’d give it a try and see, it certainly wouldn’t hurt. ~Evelyn

  2. I understand that sesquiterpenes have a high level of oxygen.. true ? if this is the case than is seems that this would be a good element to treat cancer patients… Dr. Otto Warburg discovered that a lack of oxygen was the root cause of all cancers, and that a cancerous cell could not survive in a well oxygenated cell… he got the nobel peace prize for his work back in the 30′s… so any opinion on the use of cedarwood for this purpose.. oxygenating cells ???

    • Hi Paul,

      Some therapeutic essential oils are high in sesquiterpenes, such as frankincense, sandalwood.

      Sesquiterpenes cause, through the limbic system in the brain, and increase of oxygen in the brain.

      It is thought that essential oils high in sesquiterpenes can also increase the oxygen in the cells of the body too. Wheteher or not this prevents cancer I’m uncertain there have been studies done using grapefruit and frankincense in cases of cancer. We can very safely assume that therapeutic essential oils themselves will not cause cancer and can be useful in preventing cancer. ~ Evelyn

  3. I have just started using Cedarwood. I have noticed a connection that each time I use it I end up in tears. Within about 20-30 minutes of application to my forehead I’m sobbing. It brings up past memories. I realize that oils can help release emotions and that these emotions need to be released for better health and wellbeing. I am unsure if I should continue to use the Cedarwood, use it in a different manner, use less of it, or what this means…..
    I want to release emotions and past traumas, but I am also not able to function well when I do. (I am putting on the Cedarwood, then crying so much I can’t get anything done.) ?? This tells me I NEED it to heal, but wondered if there was a way to do it more gently or perhaps another oil to help with the release. It’s supposed to be an anti-depressant, but I find myself getting the opposite affect….and then after the big “cry” I feel good. Do you have any suggestions?

    • Hi Christina,
      Wow, what a powerful observation. I agree that some healing needs to be done. I also think that the cedarwood might be moving things too quickly. While this post at my team blog doesn’t exactly answer your question it does give insight on how scent affects the brain http://blog.younglivingcircle.com/2013/02/17/aromatherapy-scent-and-the-brain/ knowing the whys and hows also brings to light the processes of how scent and the brain and the core of our emotions work together. I would also suggest getting the book by Karol K. Truman, “Feelings Buried Alive Never Die” I think through that book you should be able to work through the healing process in a gentle and methodical way and gain more complete insights along the journey. Best wishes to you, Evelyn

  4. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.

Leave a Comment

