Aromatherapy Candles and Reed Diffusers – what are the REAL benefits

Aromatherapy products are very popular these days. Especially aromatherapy candles and “reed diffusers.”

But, are they what they’re cracked up to be?

In order to understand the benefits we first need to look at the purity of the essential oil used in the application, in this case, aromatherapy candles. If an essential oil is “not” grown (organically), harvested at precisely the right time, distilled immediately (yes, most times the harvested plant material can sit in a truck for days or even weeks which means there is little if any true therapeuatic benefit left. Or worse yet, the essential oil is distilled from “dried herbs”), and should be distilled using low temperatures for longer times without the use of solvents.

Assuming you are using an essential oil that is therapeutic-grade, AFNOR / ISO rated, you will have a beneficial essential oil. The thing to keep in mind is this, when you expose this kind of essential oil to heat, like the flame of a candle, what will happen is the molecules of the essential oil will “fracture.” This would mean that there is little, if any, real therapeutic benefit. It will still smell nice but the benefits just won’t be there. The other thing that can fracture the molecules is the heat of the wax when the candle is being made. Read more about distillation…

Things to think about when choosing an aromatherapy candle:

• what is the quality of the wax? Is it something natural, like bee’s wax?

• what is the wick made of? Is it lead, or lead-free?

• if it’s not a high quality essential oil scenting the candle, beware of toxic synthetic scents

These things are important because just as the aroma goes into the air, so do the components of the candle and wick itself.

What do I choose?

First, I would never even consider using the aromatherapy “melts” that flood the market these days, they are made from synthetics which are toxic. Even if I made my own, using Young Living’s essential oils, I would never waste a therapeutic-grade essential oil in that way.

Second, I never buy aromatherapy candles, for all the reasons above. I would rather get an unscented bee’s wax candle, with a lead-free wick, and put my essential oils in my cold-air diffuser. This way, I get the benefits of: candlelight ambiance, the scent of my chosen essential oil, and the therapeutic benefits of the essential oil.

As for “reed” diffusers…

I love the way they look and I like that they are always emitting the scent. That’s as far as it goes though.

I would never buy any of the pre-mixed oils for a reed diffuser primarily because the base oil [which is what makes up the bulk] is a petro chemical, which is no doubt used because it’s cheap and because it won’t turn rancid like a plant based fatty oil. I also wouldn’t buy these scented mixtures because they use synthetic scents or inferior essential oils – which to my nose smell ghastly, not to mention, are really toxic.

I have a reed diffuser and what I’ve done is this:

I’ve set up the glass vessel and stuck the reeds in it, then I carefully take a bottle of my Young Living essential oil of choice and let the drops drip down onto the reeds.

The scent usually lasts for a couple of months and when I can no longer smell it I simply repeat the process – with one exception, I do NOT have the nasty oily mess to clean up in my glass vessel or glass stones!

What I dislike most about the pre-made scented oils for the reed diffusers is that when you have to empty the vessel that petro-based oil is going to end up in the environment, either down the drain or in a landfill. If it goes down the drain you can rest assured, if our drinking water has pharma drugs in it [and it does!] there is no way our water treatment facilities are going to be able to remove a petro chemical or the synthetics that make up the scent. Therefore, I like knowing that my “impact” on the environment is very low when I choose to decorate my home with a product of this nature.

Get Young Living Essential Oils Here!

What a reed diffuser or aromatherapy candle will NOT do: niether will kill odors, germs, mold or bacteria in the air, no matter what

The best that will occur is your mood may be elevated because our sense of smell plays many important roles within the brain and hence on our emotional well being. While there is nothing at all wrong with elevating our moods I cannot help but think that if I can get more bang for my buck then why not!?

In order for a therapeutic-grade essential oil to kill bacteria, germs, fungus, mold or mildew, it MUST be “put” into the air. Literally the essential oil needs to be put into the air. This can ONLY be achieved by using a cold-air diffuser.

The value of a cold-air nebulizing diffuser:

A cold-air diffuser is designed in such a way that it disperses a micro-fine mist through a nebulizer. Since the essential oil particles are so fine they stay suspended in the air for a long time. It’s this suspension that allows the essential oil to come into direct contact with the bacteria, germ or mold spore. The longer an essential oil can stay in contact with a bacteria or mold spore the better the chances of it being destroyed. Read more about diffusing…

The Vibrational Frequency of Therapeutic-grade Essential Oils:

The effectiveness of pure, therapeutic-grade, essential oils cannot be fully understood without some discussion of frequency. Frequency is a measurable rate of electrical energy that is constant between any two points. Every living thing has an electrical frequency. Robert O. Baker, M.D., documents in his book, The Body Electric, a “frequency generator” was developed in the early 1920’s by Royal Raymond Rife, M.D. Rife found that these frequencies could prevent disease, and others would destroy disease. Read more…

So if you want to get the most out of your aromatherapy purchases consider the facts I’ve mentioned. Doing so will save you a lot of money in the long run and will provide a therapeutic benefit.

 

Get Young Living Essential Oils Here!

 

If you’re interested in learning just how versatle therapeutic-grade essential oils can be in your household and life consider signing up for my free weekly newsletter. at the top left of this page, above the calendar.

Leave a Comment

